Yogi Adityanath wins the seat of Gorakhpur Urban by a massive margin of over 50,000 votes

Posted: Posted Date – 5:10 PM, Thu – Mar 10, 22

Luck now: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister and Bharatiya Janata Party leader Yogi Adityanath won the Gorakhpur Urban seat by a massive margin of 54,858 votes.

His victory comes as the BJP is poised to retain power in Uttar Pradesh. The counting of the votes collected during the legislative elections is in progress.

According to India’s Election Commission, Adityanath, who is running for the Assembly for the first time, won 85,356 votes while his closest rival, PS candidate Subhawati Upendra Dutt Shukla, won 30,498 votes. Azad Samaj party leader Chandra Shekhar Azad garnered just 4,501 votes. Adityanath represented the seat of Gorakhpur Lok Sabha until 2017 when he was chosen as the UP chief minister after the Bharatiya Janata Party’s landslide victory in state polls. The seat of Gorakhpur Sadar had also been a stronghold of the BJP, which the party had never lost since 1967 since the Jan Sangh era.

Meanwhile, according to the latest trends from the Election Commission of India as vote counting is underway, the BJP has 13 seats and leads in 237 constituencies. The Samajwadi Party is in the lead with 116 seats and the Congress is only in the lead in two constituencies.

You can now get handpicked stories from Telangana today to Telegram everyday. Click the link to subscribe.

Click to follow Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .